Resolution # 2016-03

WHEREAS the Grasslands and croplands form an important part of Gray County Economy and provide for protection of watersheds, forage for livestock, refuge for wildlife and recreational opportunities. Wildfires endanger these resources, real and personal property, and the lives of residents and visitors in these areas. Extremely dry and windy conditions create an extreme fire hazard within Gray County. Fires cause substantial Damage and once started, are difficult to control and strain both the volunteer fire department and manpower and resources.

It is hereby proclaimed and ordered by the Board of County Commissioners of Gray County, Kansas, that the following acts are prohibited within the boundaries of this County by all citizens and visitors.

- 1. Careless use of smoking materials, including cigarettes, cigars, and smoking pipes. Discard shall be in such a manner to preclude threat from smoldering remains.
- 2. Prescribed burning of all fence rows, fields, wild land, ravines, trash and debris. Prescribed burning may be exempted from this order where burning is necessary for crop survival and has been specifically approved by the Gray County Rural Fire Coordinator or Gray County Emergency Management, provide the name of the person responsible for the burning, the exact location of the burning, a description of the type of burning and the time burning will take place is filed with the Gray County Rural Fire Coordinator. Further, burning of any kind will be specifically prohibited during periods declared as a drought emergency and/or during periods when winds speeds exceed fifteen (15) miles per hour, all burning will be specifically prohibited.

The knowing and willful violations of this order shall constitute a Class A misdemeanor and any person convicted of such violation shall be punished as provided by law (K.S.A. 48-939).

This resolution shall be in full effect following publication in the official county newspaper.

This repeals resolution #5-93

ADOPTED THIS 29TH DAY OF FEBRUARY 2016

COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS
Glenn Oyler, Chairman
Mark Busch
JT Croft

Ashley Rogers, County Clerk